Dungeonquest Rulings

We have tried to restrict these rulings to things that are truly not covered by the rules. Many other questions arise that require several disparate parts of the rules to be read to resolve, but are, in the end, clear. We have noted some of these on the clarifications page.

Basic set

Is the sneak attack with the green thing an orc or a goblin?
It's an orc. (It has a sword, not a mace.) There are only two such cards, and they are identical. There are no goblin sneak attacks.
What does the crypt card that does "D12-3 Luck" damage mean?
There is official errata for this. It means D12+3−Luck (i.e. D12 plus 3 minus Luck). The errata makes this a very deadly trap, and I would not blame you if you chose to treat it as D12−3−Luck instead.
What happens if you wake the Dragon up and are ejected from the Treasure Chamber, but all of the adjacent squares either have walls or other adventurers in them?
The Dragon is amused as you run in circles trying to escape. It then eats you.
When you wake the Dragon up, can you leave through an entrance with a door or portcullis?
Yes, but if you fail to open it, take an additional D12 damage from the Dragon. If you're still alive, you can try again with this same entrance, with the same consequences, or you can leave another way.
What happens, if while the Dragon is asleep, you try to leave the Treasure Chamber through a door or portcullis and you fail to open it?
You remain in the Treasure Chamber and must draw a dragon tile to see if you wake up the Dragon but do not draw any treasure chits this turn.
Is a potion treasure for the purposes of losing it when you wake the dragon up?
No, nor is rope. (There's some weak support for this in the rules. If you look at the reference sheet, under "Golden Guineas or Necklace" it says "You have found some treasure." But it does not say this for potion or rope.)
If you run away from a monster, but that takes you back into the Treasure Chamber, what happens?
Ooh, this is a tough one. Let's say that you have to draw a Dragon chit and suffer the damage if you wake up the Dragon, but you do not get any loot.
When a character dies, what happens to their loot and other cards?
For Catacomb cards and amulets, shuffle them back into their respective decks. For other cards, put them on the bottom of their respective decks. For chits from the dragon, mix them back in. (Shouldn't treasures stay with the dead body? No, it's T'Siraman's magic at work!)
What happens if you are in a Chamber of Darkness and your random exit aims you at a door in an adjacent tile? Are you obligated to draw a door card, or can you choose to not move?
You can choose to not move, thus avoiding a potential door trap and/or time wasted going the wrong way. Same goes for a portcullis.


When you run away from a monster into a corridor, can you take a different branch than the way you entered that turn?
No. You're scared and will only go back to a place of relative safety, i.e. the tile you were most recently in.
What happens if you draw a corridor that points at a wall?
Stay where you are. The same goes if you draw a series of two or more corridors that end up at a wall. However, if you draw a branching corridor and any branch does not run into a wall, you must take one of those branches.
If I draw a corridor that goes into the Treasure Chamber, and I didn't want to go into the Treasure Chamber, do I have to go in?
What happens if I search, get a secret door, and the new tile is a corridor?
Pick a direction along it, move and reveal another tile.


Entering and exiting

What does "you must exit the tile using the normal rules" mean for reappearing in a Cave In or Spider Web tile?
It means you are stuck as normal, but unlike entering such a tile as usual, there is no previous tile to retreat to. You can't move until you make the appropriate roll.
What happens if you reappear in the Treasure Chamber?
Just as when you appear in any other room, you do appear there, but nothing further happens that turn. On the next turn, you may choose to stay and try to get treasure, or leave without doing so.
What happens if all possible squares are blocked by bottomless pits, bridge tiles and/or other players when you are exiting the Catacombs?
You stay in the Catacombs instead as though your "Exit" or "Hole in the Roof" was an "Empty" instead. The Ring of Teleportation also does nothing in this case.
The rules say "If you reappear in a position you don't like, you can immediately reenter the Catacombs. On your next turn, you continue in the Catacombs as usual." Is this choice made before or after drawing a Room Tile when reappearing in an empty space? Or does it happen before even rolling for your position?
After drawing a Room Tile and placing it. If you reenter the Catacombs, leave the tile in place.
In this same case, if you reenter the Catacombs, do you shuffle in the Catacombs cards you have or keep them? i.e. is your starting position reset?
It is reset. Move your Direction of Travel Counter to the tile you would have come up on, and shuffle in your Catacombs cards as if you were entering for the first time from this tile.
The Catacombs rules modify how the Trapdoor Room card works, so that you fall into the Catacombs if you fail your agility roll. Does this replace the damage specified by the basic set, or add to it?
You both take the damage and fall into the Catacombs.
Is a potion treasure for the purposes of losing it when you fall off the bridge?
No, nor is rope, as above for waking up the dragon.


When the Wizard's Amulet says that you are to return the extra amulets to the deck, does that mean to shuffle them in?
Do you have to reveal the amulet you get from the Wizard's Amulet?
No, not until it takes effect.
With the Wizard's Amulet, can I use the Amulet of Teleportation deliberately rather than when encountering a trap?
Yes, because you understand how to use it, unlike the usual way that adventurers stumble around with amulets.


If you find the Cave Troll and have one of the D12×100 treasure chests, what happens?
You can offer him the chest, and then roll to see how much it is worth (or if it explodes). This value is then locked in.
Clarify the timing of the Ring of Teleportation.
That's not a question. Anyway, it says "whenever you wish", which is pretty dang broad. You may use it in the middle of combat, for instance. The only question is whether when you use it "just after you have drawn a Catacomb card you wish to avoid", do you have that card for purposes of determining where you reappear? Yes.
Does entering a tower room count as "leaving Dragonfire Castle" for the purposes of the Doomshadow?
There's a card that says "Giant Ruby 350GP", but the reference sheet says there's a card called "Gigantic Diamond" worth 5,000GP. Which is it?
For sanity's sake, the Giant Ruby's value is as written. Obviously you may keep this card when you leave the Catacombs, as the reference sheet says for the non-existent Gigantic Diamond.
Can you use the Ring of Blinding on the Cave Troll?
Yes. This ring, from the basic set, says that it works when you are attacked by a monster on a room card. By a strict reading, you might say that being attacked by the Cave Troll happens on a Catacombs card, not a room card, but since Catacombs cards are the equivalent of room cards for the Catacombs, we're saying that it works. You must use it immediately upon drawing the Cave Troll, not after failing to bribe him, just like how you can't use it in the middle of combat.
What does "get out of Dragonfire Castle" mean for the Vampire?
It means reaching one of the tower rooms in a corner. You are free to re-enter without the Vampire once you have done this.
What does "get out of Dragonfire Castle" mean for the Chest treasure counter?
For consistency with our ruling on the Vampire, it means reaching one of the tower rooms, which means it is possible to find out how much money you have before the end of the game. You also may open it on any turn when you are in a tower room (without moving) or at the very end of the game.
If one player has the Chest treasure counter and another has the Chest treasure card at the end of the game, both unopened, in what order are they are resolved?
This matters because the player with the counter may choose not to open the chest since it could explode. Resolve this, and any other similar effects, in turn order, starting with the player who advances the Sun. If a single player has both, they may choose the order.


For Rildo, do you really take damage from a failed daggering even before entering combat?
Yes, that seems to be what it says. See also our clarifications for a rephrasing of his rules which is easier to read.
Can Helena the Swift run into a tile with a Passage Down and then down that passage in the same turn?
Yes, since the Passage Down is already placed and acts like a tile. But she cannot run in the Catacombs.
Can Helena the Swift run across a face down tile placed by Serellia?
Yes, she can try, anyway. If she attempts it, flip the tile over. If it's one that she can run through, she does. If not, she has to deal with it as though she weren't running.
What does "go into combat" mean for Fyhll Madaxe?
When the result of your choice on a monster card is combat, or if you draw a monster card and choose to fight, even if the result isn't combat, or immediately when you are sneak attacked. In the last case, first take the sneak attack damage, then see if you go berserk.
When Fhyll Madaxe is berserk, in combat, and chooses "leap aside" at the same time as the monster (known in our group as "dancing damage"), does it do double damage to the monster? If it's damage caused by each fighter flinging themselves past each other and running into the wall, it's not damage that Fhyll is doing, right? And if it does double damage to the monster, shouldn't it do double damage to Fhyll also?
Oh boy. No, see, the monster takes double damage because it had to leap twice as fast in its attempt to avoid the berserk dwarf. Fhyll does not take double damage, because even in his berserk state, he only dodges at normal speed. (The question you really should be asking is how a berserker can choose to dodge in the first place!)
What about when Fhyll chooses "leap aside" when the monster chooses "mighty blow"? I guess the monster overextended and pulled a muscle or something. That's also not Fhyll doing damage, right?
The monster takes double damage because it pulls a muscle and Fhyll gets in a normal-damage hit in the same round since he's so fast while berserk.
Can Azoth use Warp Door right after encountering Snotlings to escape from them?
No, because you couldn't ordinarily run away from Snotlings, so you can't run away through a wall either.


The rules for Serellia and Bright Flame, a.k.a. Flame Bright, are particularly underdetermined.

If Serellia dies, but Flame Bright is still alive, can you keep playing as just Flame Bright?
Sure. Treat him as a normal character with all the loot that Serellia had. Flame Bright has a Luck of zero. (With Serellia, he does not ever encounter Luck-based effects, so it is marked with a dash on his card.)
Will the Amulet of Teleportation or the Amulet of Dragonfire transport both of them?
No, only whoever is wearing it.
Will the Amulet of Death kill both of them?
No, only whoever is wearing it.
Will the Amulet of the Spider God or Amulet of Command work for both of them?
Yes, in each case the monster doesn't care that there's someone else present.
What happens with the Amulet of Destruction?
If it goes off on Serellia, Bright Flame automatically waits for her. If it goes off on Bright Flame, Serellia may choose to abandon Bright Flame, as with a Trap Door.
The Amulet of Escape?
It has no effect. (One of you is still visible, so the monster still attacks if it would otherwise. If Bright Flame is invisible, it will still fight to defend Serellia.)
What happens when Serellia and Flame Bright meet the Vampire?
The Vampire tests and potentially attaches to Serellia only, in the same way that Vampire Bats affects only Serellia and not Flame Bright.
What happens when they meet the Doomshadow?
It attaches to, and potentially kills, only Serellia.
How about poisonous gas?
The waiting provisions apply as per Amulet of Destruction.
Will the Ring of Teleportation transport both of them?
What about the Cave-In room card?
It is not a trap, so Flame Bright can't avoid it using its ability. Resolve it independently for the two of them.
The Cave-In tile?
Resolve it independently for the two of them. If Serellia makes it across but Bright Flame doesn't, she can wait for him if she wants to, or abandon him as with Trap Door. He dies if she does this. If Bright Flame makes it across and Serellia doesn't, Bright Flame automatically waits for her. On a subsequent turn, if Serellia decides to go another way instead of trying to climb over again, she may; this is abandoning Flame Bright and it kills him.
The Bridge tile?
Resolve as with Bottomless Pit: Resolve it for them independently, but Bright Flame will jump after Serellia if she falls.
How about the Scorpion you find when you search a corpse?
Treat it as a crypt trap, i.e. it affects only Serellia.
They fight Bright Flame until it's dead, and then move on to Serellia
Giant Centipede?
D12 damage to Bright Flame, with excess damage beyond what is needed to kill him applied to Serellia.
Can Bright Flame put on Amulets instead of Serellia?
Yes. Pick who is putting it on. They can each have one.
Does Flame Bright's trap-avoiding ability work on Trap cards, i.e. is a Trap card a "card with a trap"?
For Hole in the Roof, do both Serellia and Bright Flame have to roll?
Yes, for consistency with trap door and bottomless pit.
Who takes damage from Snotlings when Serellia and Bright Flame encounter them?
Bright Flame, until he is dead, and then Serellia.
Go through all possible interactions with the Book.
Ok... On "Alarm", both Serellia and Flame Bright are killed. On "Curse", Serellia takes the damage. On "Spell of Vitality", both regain all their LP. On "Spell of Teleportation", both are teleported out.

Revised 2018-10-09 to add stuff about Serellia and Helena. Revised 2018-11-25 to rule on coming out of the Catacombs into the Treasure Chamber, the timing of Fhyll Madaxe with sneak attacks, and more about Serellia. 2019-01-26 Clarified Fhyll Madaxe's dancing damage.